2010 Statesmanship Award Dinner

Honoring Former Member Ray LaHood


LaHood (2)


Tuesday, March 16, 2010

6:30 p.m. Reception

8:00 p.m. Dinner and Evening Program


The Ritz Carlton Hotel Ballroom

1150 22nd Street, NW

Washington, D.C. 20037


Please click here to learn more about the Statesmanship Awards Dinner including past honorees


The U.S. Association of Former Members of Congress is pleased to announced that The Honorable Ray LaHood, will be the 2010 Statesmanship Award Recipient.  As part of the Association’s 40th anniversary activities, FMC has decided to dedicate 2010 to the theme of bipartisanship.  Given this focus, the selection of Ray LaHood was an easy one.  During his 14 years in Congress, Ray LaHood built trust across party lines and cultivated personal friendships regardless of political ideology.  He was respected as a diligent legislator, served with distinction on powerful committees such as Appropriations, and was an extraordinary public servant on behalf of his Illinois constituency.  He sponsored numerous bipartisan activities so that Members of Congress had an opportunity to get to know their colleagues on a personal and informal level.  He was a constant voice of reason and fairness.  David Broder of the Washington Post called his retirement from Congress “A Setback for Civility.”  It is altogether fitting that Ray LaHood now serves as a Republican cabinet member in a Democratic administration.  Via the 2010 Statesmanship Award, the U.S. Association of Former Members of Congress wishes to recognize and honor Ray LaHood’s dedication to public service and his commitment to respectful and productive dialogue across party lines.