Statesmanship Awards Dinner

Our Annual Statesmanship Awards Dinner has become an institution in Washington and brings together over 400 VIP guests, including current and former Members of Congress, ambassadors, corporate representatives, and administration officials. The evening serves as a “Salute to Service,” recognizing outstanding individuals and organizations who exemplify courage, commitment, passion for furthering democracy, and who have given a life-long dedication to service.

For information about the 2015 Statesmanship Awards Dinner and how you can be involved, please click here or contact Pete Weichlein at PWeichlein -at- usafmc -dot -org or 202-222-0972.

Previous Statesmanship Award Recipients


  • Senator Max Cleland
  • The Women of the U.S. Senate, represented by Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Barbara Mikulski (D-MD);
  • Congressman John Lewis
  • Senators Richard Lugar and Sam Nunn
  • Secretary John Kerry
  • Secretary Ray LaHood
  • Members Who Have Served in the Military: represented by Senator John McCain (R-AZ), Senator Daniel Inouye (D-HI), Congressman Steve Buyer (R-IN) and Congressman John Conyers (D-MI)
  • Women in Congress: represented by Speaker Nancy Pelosi
  • The Honorable Dirk Kempthorne and the Honorable Robert Portman
  • The Honorable Christopher Cox
  • The Honorable John Breaux
  • The Greatest Generation: represented by Majority Leader Bob Dole, The Honorable Sam Gibbons, Senator John Glenn, Senator George McGovern and Majority Leader Bob Michel
  • Secretary Donald Rumsfeld
  • Vice President Dick Cheney
  • Tribute to Congressional Leadership: Speaker Tom Foley, Minority Leader Dick Gephardt, Majority Leader Bob Michel, and Speaker Dennis Hastert
  • The Honorable Norm Mineta
  • The Honorable Lynn Martin
  • The Honorable Lee Hamilton
  • The Honorable Dan Glickman

Previous Corporate Statesmanship Award Recipients

  • Veterans to Technicians Program, Audi of America, Inc.
  • Indra Nooyi, Chairman and CEO of PepsiCo
  • Secretary Carlos Gutierrez, former CEO of Kelloggs
  • Margery Krauss, Founder & CEO of APCO Worldwide
  • David J. McIntyre, CEO Triwest Healthcare Alliance

Previous Civic Statesmanship Award Recipients

  • Navy SEAL Foundation
  • Senator and U.S. Secretary Elizabeth Dole, founder of the Elizabeth Dole Foundation.
  • Operation Homefront and CEO Jim Knots
  • Gary Sinise and the Gary Sinise Foundation
  • The Tug McGraw Foundation

Previous Life Time Statesmanship Award Recipient

  • President George H. W. Bush