The U.S. Association of Former Members of Congress is grateful to have the leadership of such distinguished individuals, who donate their time and expertise pro bono.

Executive Committee

Cliff_Stearns_Official Frost
President: Cliff Stearns Vice President:Martin Frost



 tom-petri-google-photo  Barbara B. Kennelly (D-CT, 82-99)
 Secretary: Tim Petri Treasurer:  Karen Thurman  Immediate Past President: Barbara Kennelly


Class of 2015 (up for reelection in 2018)        


Mary Bono (CA) (H 1997-2013)

Jim Kolbe (AZ) (H 1985-2007)

Cliff Stearns (FL) (H 1989-2013) President

Jim Walsh (NY) (H 1989-2009)



Vic Fazio (CA) (H 1979-1999)

Martin Frost (TX) (H 1979-2005) Vice President

Bart Gordon (TN) (H 1985-2011)

David Skaggs (CO) (H 1987-1999)

Albert Wynn (MD) (H 1993-2009)

Class of 2016 (up for reelection in 2019)


Ann Marie Buerkle (NY) (H 2011-2013)

Mike Ferguson (NJ) (H 2001-2009)

Phil Gingrey (GA) (H 2003-2015)

Tim Petri (WI) (H 1979-2015) Secretary

Ron Sarasin (CT) (H 1973-1979)



Bob Clement (TN) (H 1987-2003)

Dan Maffei (NY) (H 2009-2011; 2013-2015)

L.F. Payne (VA) (H 1987-1997)

Nick Rahall (WV) (H 1977-2015)



Class of 2017 (up for reelection in 2020)


Jim Coyne (PA) (H 1981-1983)

Ken Kramer (CO) (H 1979-1987)

Randy Neugebauer (TX) (H 2003-2017)

Ed Whitfield (KY) (H 1995-2017)

Jeff Miller (FL) (H 2001-2017)



Byron Dorgan (ND) (H 1981-1992 S 1992-2011)

Steven Horsford (NV) (H 2013-2015)

Jim Matheson (UT) (H 2001-2015)

Jim Moran (VA) (H 1991-2015)

Karen Thurman (FL) (H 1993-2003)



The President Emeritus Council (no term limit, non-voting)


Barbara Kennelly (CT) (H 1981 – 1999) Past President

Jim Slattery (KS) (H 1983 -1995) Past President

Dennis Hertel (MI) (H 1981-1993) Past President

Larry LaRocco (ID) (H 1991-1995)

Matthew McHugh (NY) (H 1983-1993)


Jack Buechner (MO) (H 1987-1991) Past President

Connie Morella (MD) (H 1987-2003) Past President





Counselors (no term limit, non-voting)


Jim Courter (NJ) (H 1979-1991)

Dick Schulze (PA) (H 1975-1993)

Olympia Snowe (MA) (H 1979-1995; S 1995-2013)





Bob Carr (MI) (H 1975-1981; 1983-1995)

Dan Glickman (KS) (H 1977-1995)

Lee Hamilton (IN) (H 1965-1999)

Jim Jones (OK) (H 1973-1987)

H. Martin Lancaster (NC) (H 1987-1995)



Honorary Chairman:  Norm Mineta


Members in Italics comprise the Executive Committee and are officers of the Association

H=US House of Representatives

S= US Senate